Ackergill Tower is a category A listed building on the west coast of the Isle of Wight. This historic site was built in the early 16th century and is a five-storey oblong tower house. A four-storey wing was later added to the rear of the tower. Despite its age, the Ackergill Tower is well worth a visit, and a perfect place to take the kids.
Ackergill Tower first entered history in 1538, and was the centre of various feuds, which included the abduction of Helen Gunn by the Keith family. This resulted in the Battle of Champions, and in 1547 the Sinclairs seized the tower. In the following years, Mary of Guise returned the castle to the Keiths. In 1549, Laurence Oliphant took up residence in the tower, and it was later leased to a private owner. The Sinclairs again seized the tower in the following year, but were able to sell it legally in 1612.
The castle itself is a stunning building, with five storeys and a four-storey wing.
It sits on 30 acres of land and comes with a lease on shooting rights over 3,000 acres. It is a stunning property on Scotland’s northernmost tip, and is available for PS3,900,000. Its history is fascinating, but its ghost story is the highlight of the trip. The legend behind the Ackergill tower is a true tale, and is based on facts and legends.
Ackergill Tower was once under threat of destruction by the Sinclairs of Girnigoe, who had seized it by force. However, Mary of Guise granted them a remission and installed Laurence Oliphant as the keeper in 1597. In 1598, the Sinclairs managed to capture the castle once again, and in 1612, a rebel named John Keith besieged the tower.
The Ackergill Tower was built in the early 16th century.
Clan Keith inherited the land in 1354 from the Cheynes family. The tower may have been constructed by John Keith, the second Earl of Inverugie. It is an example of Scottish architecture and is a popular destination for weddings. The history of the castle dates back to the late 1300s, although it is believed that the tower was only built 100 years later.
The tower is believed to date from the 14th century. The estate had previously been owned by the Cheyne family. The eldest daughter of Sir Reginald le Cheyne was given the land in 1305. The estate passed through marriage to the Keith family, which was led by John Keith of Inverugie. Today, the Ackergill tower is a magnificent example of Scottish architecture. You can visit it by foot, or hire a guide to tour the grounds.
The Ackergill Tower is a historic tower with five floors. It was built by the Clan Keith in 1354. The tower was first mentioned in the year 1538. The original owners of the castle were the Cheynes family. During that time, the property was governed by John Keith. The town of Ackergill was a center of Scottish royal politics. Many of the clans owned the land, but the last one was the first to occupy the area.
The Ackergill Tower was built in the 17th century. It was built by the Clan Graham.
The castle is located in the county of Stirling. You can also see the ruins of Mugdock Castle just outside of Mugdock village. If you like castles, then you should definitely visit Mugdock. It is located in the parish of Strathblane. The city is the second largest city in Scotland after Glasgow.
The Ackergill Tower was built in 1651 and Oliver Cromwell used it to garrison his troops. Then, the castle was sold to Sir William Dunbar of Hempriggs. The Dunbar family owned the castle for two centuries and lived there until the tower was restored in 1986. Since then, many famous people have stayed at the Ackergill Tower. The famous Richard Branson, Jack Nicholson and Michael Douglas have all stayed at the Ackergill Tower and are still pictured there.
Ackergill Tower is a category A listed building that is located on the coast of Sinclair’s Bay, four kilometers north of Wick. It is a five-storey oblong structure that has had many additions over the years. While the Ackergill Tower is listed as a Category A building, it is still a unique historical structure with many interesting features. Its location makes it an excellent location to explore the surrounding countryside and explore the island.